No Spurs playing in Obama Classic — yet

obama-basketball.jpgSpurs majority owner Peter Holt is one of the prime contributors in Rick Perry’s campaign for president.

Maybe some of Holt’s conservatism has spread to his players. No Spurs are listed as confirmations for President Barack Obama’s Classic Dec. 12 in Washington on his campaign website. Proceeds with benefit the president’s re-election campaign.

Among the NBA stars who have confirmed to play include:

  • Ray Allen
  • Carmelo Anthony
  • Chris Bosh
  • Vince Carter
  • Tyson Chandler
  • Jamal Crawford
  • Kevin Durant
  • Baron Davis
  • Patrick Ewing
  • Derek Fisher
  • Rudy Gay
  • Blake Griffin
  • Tyler Hansbrough
  • Juwan Howard
  • Antawn Jamison
  • Earvin “Magic” Johnson
  • Dahntay Jones
  • Brandon Knight
  • Kevin Love
  • Jamal Mashburn
  • Cheryl Miller
  • Alonzo Mourning
  • Dikembe Mutombo
  • Hamady Ndiaye
  • Chris Paul
  • Paul Pierce
  • Quentin Richardson
  • Doc Rivers
  • Steve Smith
  • Jerry Stackhouse
  • Amare Stoudemire
  • Tina Thompson
  • John Wall
  • Russell Westbrook

Dwight Howard was among the late scratches. And the Obama website promises more players  will be named later. So there is a chance for the Spurs to show up to help Obama’s campaign, if they should be so inclined.

Obama seems to have learned something about pricing from the NBA owners. Although the location of the game has not been settled, cost of  tickets include $5,000 for courtside seats, $500 for lower-deck seats and $200 for general admission.