Boondocks Creator Aaron McGruder Co-Wrote Red Tails

 

Boondocks Creator Co-Wrote 'Red Tails'

ABC

The man known for creating the nationally syndicated comic stripThe Boondocks in the late 1990s also has his hands in a film being released this weekend. Aaron McGruder, the controversial man with wide-ranging opinions on a vast variety of subjects, co-wroteRed Tails.

The project, financed by filmmaker George Lucas, opened on Friday in theaters nationwide and chronicles the lives of Tuskegee Airmen, a group of black pilots placed in an experimental training program during World War II.

“About two years ago, I got a call from my agent asking if I wanted to meet with Lucas to talk about the script,” McGruder told the Daily Beast. “I was like, ‘Yes, I would!’ I’m a Stars Wars guy and also the son of a military pilot, so it was the best of both worlds for me to do a project like this.”

McGruder was said to be brought on by Lucas to add a fresher, more youthful take on the film.

“That was my biggest contribution to the project, making it more of an action-hero type film,” McGruder told the Daily Beast. “I used my comic strip experience to make the script have a faster pace. There have been other movies on the Tuskegee Airmen, so I wanted to make sure the audience had a different view of these men … this film has something for older people who know the story, and younger people who aren’t so familiar with the story and like action.”

Leave a Reply

