Frank Ocean Crowned ‘The Self-Made Prince of Pop’ By New York Times

Frank Ocean New York Times Magazine

Frank Ocean is featured on the cover of New York Times Magazine where he is declared “the self-made prince of pop.”

The singer and songwriter who is not a big fan of the media reluctantly sat down with Jeff Himmelman at a Hollywood garage where he was rebuilding a vintage 1990 BMW E30 sedan and told him right off the bat:

“All in all, I just don’t trust journalists — and I don’t think it’s a good practice for me to trust journalists” and eventually added “Don’t worry about it, bro” before starting the interview.

Ocean who is nominated for six Grammys revealed to Himmelman that he is aware that he is not a very likable and does not mind:

“That’s why image is so important.That’s why you’ve got to practice brevity when you do interviews like this. I could try to make myself likable to you so you could write a piece that keeps my image in good standing, because I’m still selling this, or I could just say, ‘My art speaks for itself.’”

Leave a Reply

